Location, Position and Size

Image Placeholder
Kericho County is one of the 47 counties in the Republic of Kenya. It’s located in the South Rift of the Great Rift Valley, about 256kms from Nairobi, the capital city of Kenya. The County lies between longitude 35º 02’ and 35º 40’ East and between the equator and latitude 0 23' South with an altitude of about 2002m above the sea level. The county is bordered by the Uasin Gishu County to the North West, Baringo County to the North, Nandi County to the North-West, Nakuru County to the East and Bomet County to the South. It is bordered to the South West by Nyamira and Homa Bay Counties and to the West by Kisumu County. The county occupies a total area of 2,479 sq.Km and is divided into 6 sub-counties, 30 wards, 85 locations and 209 sub locations. The county is well positioned to benefit from various markets provided by the neighboring counties as it has robust national and county roads connecting to the rest of the counties.

Kericho County is cosmopolitan and largely inhabited by Kipsigis sub-tribe of the Kalenjin tribal group. Other notable tribes include Kikuyus, Luos, Somalis, Indians, Luhyas and Kisiis who have enjoyed close relationship with the Kalenjins. Culturally, the Kipsigis people believed in a god called Asis; the Supreme Being that created the sky and the earth. Most of the residents of Kericho County are Christians, although there is a significant population of Muslims and Hindus.


Physical Location:
County Government of Kericho Headquarters
Business Hours:
Mon - Fri: 8AM - 5PM


Official Email Address:
P.O.Box 112 - 20200, Kericho
Phone number:

Copyright © 2023 County Government of Kericho. All rights reserved.