Kericho County is one of the 47 counties in the Republic of Kenya. It’s located in the South Rift of the Great Rift Valley, about 256kms from Nairobi, the capital city of Kenya. The County lies between longitude 35º 02’ and 35º 40’ East and between the equator and latitude 0 23’ South with an altitude of about 2002m above the sea level. The county is bordered by the Uasin Gishu County to the North West, Baringo County to the North, Nandi County to the North-West, Nakuru County to the East and Bomet County to the South. It is bordered to the South West by Nyamira and Homa Bay Counties and to the West by Kisumu County. The county occupies a total area of 2,479 sq.Km and is divided into 6 sub-counties, 30 wards, 85 locations and 209 sub locations. The county is well positioned to benefit from various markets provided by the neighboring counties as it has robust national and county roads connecting to the rest of the counties.

Kericho County is cosmopolitan and largely inhabited by Kipsigis sub-tribe of the Kalenjin tribal group. Other notable tribes include Kikuyus, Luos, Somalis, Indians, Luhyas and Kisiis who have enjoyed close relationship with the Kalenjins. Culturally, the Kipsigis people believed in a god called Asis; the Supreme Being that created the sky and the earth. Most of the residents of Kericho County are Christians, although there is a significant population of Muslims and Hindus.

The Kericho County Facebook Page Updates
Kericho County is Sized 2,479 Sq. Km with a population of 752396.
The county seats between longitude 35°02' and 35°40' East and between the equator and latitude 0°23' South with an altitude of about 2002m above the sea level.
It's made up of 6 Sub-counties, 30 wards, 85 locations and 209 Sub-Locations.
Its best known for its production in Agriculture-(Tea, Dairy Farming), Sports and Tourism.

Kericho County Government
P.O.Box 112, 20200, Kericho
Landline: 03000398
Email: info@kericho.go.ke
©2022. Kericho County Government. All Rights Reserved.

Contact Us